Heartfelt congratulations to Dr. Marieme Lo on her appointment to the inaugural senior leadership team at the University of Toronto’s recently established School of Cities. She will serve as Associate Director, Education.

The School of Cities aims to be a world-leading centre for innovative, multidisciplinary urban research, education and engagement. The school will convene urban-focused researchers, educators, students, practitioners, institutions and the general public to explore and address the complex challenges facing the world’s urban areas. It has the goal of making cities and urban regions more sustainable, prosperous, inclusive and just. The School of Cities will harness the breadth of urban-related expertise on offer at U of T, facilitating cross-disciplinary collaboration locally and globally. Read more on the school’s mission and work.

Professor Lo is the director of the African Studies program at New College and an associate professor in Women and Gender Studies. her work encompasses the political economy and creative dynamism of African urban informal economies, female entrepreneurship, economic justice and rights to livelihood, with a focus on the dynamics of urban transformation, governance, resilience and the conditions of the “urban poor,” particularly in postcolonial cities. Her SSHRC-funded research project, “Entrepreneurial Nomadism,” explores and maps women entrepreneurs’ transnational circuits and trade mobility in cities across three continents. Dr. Lo also collaborates with grassroots women’s organizations, civil society networks such as the West Africa Civil Society and international organizations such as UN-Women, the World Food Programme and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). 

Other members of the inaugural senior leadership team are Dr. Matti Siemiatycki (Interim Director), Dr. Shauna Brail (Associate Director, Partnerships and Outreach), Dr. Mark Fox (Associate Director, Research) and Dr. Richard Florida (Distinguished Scholar in Residence). All appointments are effective July 1, 2018, for a duration of one year with the possibility of renewal.