RecogNEWtion Awards Logo

Celebrating Excellence in Residence,
Student Life, and Leadership.

In the interest of public safety and our New College community, we came to the difficult decision of cancelling the RecogNEWtion Awards Night.

As a small spark of positivity, we want to recognize our award winners for this year. The students and organizations below have exemplified the true excellence we know to be present in our New College community. In the moments between contingency planning and adjusting to new environments, please join us in congratulating these award recipients.

We want to thank all those who were involved in the planning and creation of this night, from the students who nominated their peers, to our colleagues who helped confirmed floor plans. We hope that we will celebrate in person in the near future, and for everyone to take care in the meantime.

– The Office of Residence and Student Life

Dean of Students’ Community Impact Honours

Jade Ong-Tone

Values Awards

Collaboration – Lucinda Qu
Equity Grounded – Kyra Bingham
Innovation – Daniel McInnis
Personal Growth – Lucy Zuo
Student Centred – Bushra Ahmed

Residence Life Awards

Yves Roberge Community Builder – Kevin Nitièma, Julio Disini
Phoenix Cup – Crawford House
Spirit Cup – 45-6 House
Council of Excellence Cup – 45-5 House
Unsung Champion – Peter Vandervelde

Student Life Awards

Community Builder in Student Life – Sarim Irfan
Outstanding Club Executive – John Carlos (FSAT)
Outstanding New Member – Wend Yasen (ESSU)
Outstanding Student Organization – Filipino Students’ Association of Toronto (FSAT)

FSAT members at their 2020 Talent Show

House Champion Cups

Wilson Championship Cup – Kwant House
Wetmore Championship Cup – Powell House
45W Championship Cup – 45-7 House
Commuter Championship Cup – Ray House

Recognition of Leadership

New College Dons
New College Orientation
Residence Academic Programmers
First Year Learning Communities (FLC)
New College Residence Council
New College Student Council
SPROUT Mentorship Program

Orientation 2019