June Larkin Award for Pedagogical Development

This award provides for a half-course release for a member of New College faculty to develop innovative pedagogy or educational technology for use in classroom, community or field settings, and/or online teaching and learning. The pedagogical contribution should be sustainable and have professional development value that can be shared with New College as a whole. This award was established to recognize the contribution of Dr. June Larkin, New College vice-principal from 2007 to 2014 and from 2017 to the present, 3M National Teaching Fellowship Award winner, and member of the University of Toronto Teaching Academy. Learn more about the award.

Kathleen O’Connell Teaching Excellence Award

This award honors outstanding teaching and recognizes the important contributions made by sessional instructional staff to the teaching mission of New College in its academic programs, interdisciplinary courses and Writing Centre. Dr. Kathleen O’Connell has taught courses on Rabindranath Tagore and Satyajit Ray at New College for two decades, beginning in 1993. Her teaching, in the spirit of both Tagore and Ray, exemplifies New College’s commitment to socially engaged education and pedagogical innovation.

New College Initiatives Fund (NCIF)

The New College Initiatives Fund was established to disburse operating budget funds acquired through the College’s intrapreneurial activities and is meant to support initiatives related to the New College community and its academic programs. Expenditures from the fund may include – but are not limited to – off-setting costs for invited speakers, workshops, and conferences.